On The Beat - Episode 503 - Weekly Guitar Video News Wrap Up June 5th, 2020

tgjameela

Fri Jun 05, 2020 8:29 pm

Hi Everyone,

The Weekly Wrap Up has been released.

Hope you enjoy!

https://totallylessons.com/blog/guitar- ... -5th-2020/

A little Scott Joplin to start today’s update. I recently watched The Sting for the first time in maybe 15 years and cannot recommend it enough if you have a some time on your hands, or at least until sports resume on some level. I also heavily recommend the new series Laurel Canyon, the second (last) episode is on EPIX Sunday night.

This week’s new lessons included James Taylor’s arrangement of Jerusalem, which as you know, I have been toying with for a couple months. I have been working on many rather complicated lessons lately and I’m glad to wrap this one up. I even tried a short improv with some thoughts on playing it more like ELP did in 1973 on Brain Salad Surgery, which needs a time signature change, probably a key change, and a little more bombastic approach than is normal on the acoustic guitar. Might be fun though.

We also had a look at a guitar accompaniment of Bridge Over Troubled Water, something that would be good as a backing track for vocals. There is still another version on my to-do list coming along nicely.

New Packs This Week-
We added three Crosby, Stills & Nash packs, each including 5 songs mostly associated with one of the trio. There was a set of Elton John’s which had some of his best acoustic guitar tunes like Daniel, Madman Across The Water and Your Song, as well as an electric pack of Led Zeppelin songs, all taught by Max Rich. Check them out when you can

Coming Lessons & Packs