Busking Captain Corelli

Chasplaya

Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:42 am

Having owned this new toy for 6wks I thought it time I learned to play something on it. So self taught so far. This song is the first solo Nicholas Cage plays to Palagia in the movie. I'd never played a mandolin before so this is a new experience such a skinny neck and I need to learn to soften up my pick grip when doing the tremolos, but more practise and that will come. This was never meant to be posted but I was playing unplugged straight to my new webcam so no Micro BR, no amp just webcam. Oh and only learnt this song tonight from an ASCII file which has no reference to timing or tempo.

PLEASE NOTE: If video was recently uploaded it will not work yet. YouTube will need a little more time to get the video ready. Please check back again soon.

tovo

Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:04 am

Hey Chas...or should I be calling you Godfather? "Never ask me about my business".

Anyway, that was pretty cool. Seems everyone is going small. I'm sure you will have fun with the mandolin. How about another post in the near future? Good stuff.

Chasplaya

Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:13 am

tovo wrote:
Hey Chas...or should I be calling you Godfather? "Never ask me about my business".

Anyway, that was pretty cool. Seems everyone is going small. I'm sure you will have fun with the mandolin. How about another post in the near future? Good stuff.

Thanks Tony, was a spur of the moment thing, if I'd thought too much I wouldn't have posted as usual. This was third take, although I could have picked any of them, they all had different mistakes so I used this one with less than the other two. I would like to find the actual sheet music to get timing and tempo right though.
Hey its taken me 2yrs to get this one posted don't rush me lol . It was pretty rough, and the tremolo picking needs work. Like the sepia it was WWII and the hat is closest to Italian I have

dennisg

Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:38 am

Aaaaaaah, how great to finally 'meet' you Chas! ;)