Busking Blues

tovo

Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:25 pm

Just a touch of Texas Flood style blues licks. I was talking to a couple of TG mates who said "hey show us what you are doing" so here's what I am doing. Note that I am working on NOT anchoring my picking hand and trying to keep my fingers closer to the fretboard. I know a backing track would make it more interesting, but I'm happy for any technique feedback on this short clip.

PLEASE NOTE: If video was recently uploaded it will not work yet. YouTube will need a little more time to get the video ready. Please check back again soon.

Lavallee

Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:40 pm

Quite a nice improvement Tony. Nice bends and slides and your playing is quite melodic. I did not read right away your text and noticed your right hand (left hand?) got rid of the anchoring, that did not take long! I am no expert in solo, but your fretting hand seems to be pointing with the pinky. I think that if you have your hand more parallel to the fretboard, it will bring all your finger tips at the same distance of the fretboard, giving you a chance to use your pinky, without having to twist your hand to use it when needed. Just a thought.

Nice work

Marc

Craig

Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:12 am

Nice work Tony! Your hard work is paying off. I don't play the blues and I don't think I'm qualified to offer advice. I do think I'm qualified enough to say that it sounds good to me and your progress is noticeable! Way to go. Keep up the good work and congratulations to you. You should be proud of yourself.

Craig

haoli25

Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:41 am

My only experience with the BLUES is as a listener only, but I can't help but think that somewhere Stevie Ray is smiling with approval. Nice job.

Bill

Chasplaya

Fri Jul 13, 2012 2:48 am

Cool stuff Tony, all I've got for you is to maybe not be so exact with the note lengths i.e. nearly all the same in this clip, and add in a bit more vibrato

willem

Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:01 am