Busking James Taylor - Somthing In The Way She Moves

wrsomers

Tue Mar 08, 2016 4:42 pm

This is my first attempt at a green screen video. There is a lot more to it than I realized; but I'm happy with my first try. I hope you enjoy the song. I know I should have tried to smile at little more but by the time I got to the 30th take, I was out of them. :laugh:
Bill

michelew

Tue Mar 08, 2016 5:57 pm

Bill,

Raising the bar for videos again. You know at some point we're all going to have to get retro and low tech. :) :)

I dont know this song, but you sound really good. You'll have to tell me the secret to getting such clarity in the vocals and the guitar. Beautiful effects too.

Nice one.

M

wrsomers

Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:46 pm

Thanks Michele,
Retro and low tech for me would be singing on a park bench. Not such a bad gig. :) Used to do it sometimes many, many years ago.

I don't know what to tell you about my recording technique. It's a combination of things. Good room for acoustics, condenser mic placed well, good sounding guitar with quality strings, tons of practice, a little knowledge about FX in my DAW, and of course my million dollar voice ( :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: ) I know what I need to work on more is better dynamics (crescendo, decrescendo, pianissimo, fortissimo, etc).

If you have specific questions about recording, please PM me and I'll be happy to give you what limited knowledge I have.

Bill

dtaylor

Tue Mar 08, 2016 8:07 pm

That's my favourite of your uploads Bill, I really respect your ability to play complicated finger-picking/strumming and yet keep the relaxed vocals the main focus of the performance. It makes me want to re-learn this and get it to a point where I can sing it, I bet it wasn't easy.

BobR

Tue Mar 08, 2016 9:06 pm

Hi Bill,

Very nicely done. You can't go wrong with James Taylor :) :)

Bob

davidrfinn99165

Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:51 am

Excellent Bill...another very accomplished performance :)