Are we kidding ourselves?

BRBbrb

Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:50 pm

As I mentioned in another thread; my son's friend is a fantastic musician. He is self-taught, plays by ear, tunes by ear & doesn't even know theory; but just blew me away. You just know someone like that is born to play. Makes me wonder what's the point? I have to copy, pause, rewind - just to play 1 song remotely decent. It makes me feel, as the kids say today, like a poser!

jayswett

Sun Sep 20, 2009 3:59 pm

I share your frustration as I, too, take forever and a day to learn a new song. I guess I would say that the point in persevering despite a lack of natural talent is 1) it gets easier with each new song and 2) it's simply so enjoyable once you "get it". That's my 2 cents, anyway.

willem

Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:01 pm

BRBbrb wrote:
As I mentioned in another thread; my son's friend is a fantastic musician. He is self-taught, plays by ear, tunes by ear & doesn't even know theory; but just blew me away. You just know someone like that is born to play. Makes me wonder what's the point? I have to copy, pause, rewind - just to play 1 song remotely decent. It makes me feel, as the kids say today, like a poser!
when you all day and day's are busy with the music or something there is a develop in yourself and you gonna be self-thaugt... on one day your ear that G chord playing...or other...

BRBbrb

Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:16 pm

jayswett wrote:
I share your frustration as I, too, take forever and a day to learn a new song. I guess I would say that the point in persevering despite a lack of natural talent is 1) it gets easier with each new song and 2) it's simply so enjoyable once you "get it". That's my 2 cents, anyway.
I agree, it is a sense of accomplishment & fun so I'll keep plugging away!

BigBear

Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:18 pm