Progression / Mode Question

Music Junkie

Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:42 pm

Hey All:

I am working on an old REO Speedwagon tune (no laughing... :silly: ). It is called "Roll With the Changes"

I think I am hearing C as the I chord, or at least what the song is resolving to. However, the chords seem to be C - F - Bb - F - C, which would seem to be V - F - IV - I - V... Not positive about that... :unsure: If that is correct, would this be considered to be in the Key of F, but revolving around the 5th (mixolydian???)

If this does not make sense, I am blaming it on a long week combined with a wonderful bourbon and coke... :P

Jason

TGNesh

Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:41 am

Absolutely the key of C! :)

unclewalt

Sat Jul 13, 2013 5:03 pm

Seems that way to me, too, but I'm far from an expert on this stuff. I think the Bb is just a chord from outside the key. These rules aren't hard and fast. Excellent question, though -- there's a Dm and a G5 in the chorus, so all the chords also fit into F major. For all I know, you could technically describe it the way you have.

Music Junkie

Sat Jul 13, 2013 10:53 pm

Ness and Walt:

Thanks for the input...

I knew C was "home", but the Bb threw me off... :) I have seen many songs that seem to have the 7th, which would normally be a diminished chord, as a major chord. I have always wondered about that. In this case, the Bb would be a borrowed chord, if we are in the key of C. If it was F but revolving around the C, that would explain it. If it is C , then Bb would be the 4th of IV, which is another thing I have seen used in a lot of songs, along with the 5th of V. I really wish I understood all of that more... :huh:

Thanks again!

Jason

unclewalt

Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:36 pm

Music Junkie wrote:
Ness and Walt:

Thanks for the input...