Song Writing Technique Questions

rcsnydley

Fri Sep 18, 2009 11:38 pm

In the last TG Live there were a couple of questions on how to write songs, chord progressions, melody, rhythm & even lyrics.

I would like to see this category used to ask questions pertaining to writing songs. As a song writer I would be happy to share any knowledge I may posses. If anyone would like to tackle a specific aspect of the above mentioned song components, please, do so.

So, let's get started, first question?

Ric

Music Junkie

Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:39 am

rcsnydley wrote:
In the last TG Live there were a couple of questions on how to write songs, chord progressions, melody, rhythm & even lyrics.

I would like to see this category used to ask questions pertaining to writing songs. As a song writer I would be happy to share any knowledge I may posses. If anyone would like to tackle a specific aspect of the above mentioned song components, please, do so.

Ric
O.K. Ric:

I know that there is no "Right" way to write a song (as far as what order - lyrics / melody / chords). That being said, I am interested to know if you have a preference for when YOU write a song. Do you go for melody, chords or lyrics first? I have a tendency to mess with chord progressions first, but I never seem to be able to come up with lyrics. Also, I am so lacking in scale knowledge that trying to figure out a melody is very difficult for me.

Love to hear your thoughts.....

:unsure:

rcsnydley

Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:12 am

Music Junkie wrote:
rcsnydley wrote:

Ric
O.K. Ric: