How would you teach someone blind to play the guitar?

heyjoe

Fri Mar 12, 2010 3:22 pm

Hello All

Through a friend of my wifes, I've been asked if I'd like to teach two blind kids, aged about 8/9 years old how to play the basics on guitar. They really want to learn how to play, and the charity would like someone to teach them.

I have lots of questions and need to do a lot of research about this, but I'd like to know, what do you think would be the best way to teach them. The lady who has asked said that they just want to learn chords, but I'm wondering if thats the best thing to start with.

I've got no teaching experience, the last time I was around kids that old was when I was that old! but its something that is intruiging me, and its something I'd like to do, I'm just not sure how to go about it, so has anyone got any ideas....how do you teach blind kids to play guitar?

Thanks

Joe

TGMatt

Fri Mar 12, 2010 3:28 pm

Wow/..

It never ceases to amaze me the serendipity of things..when you plug in that is..

So one of my friends is Blind...and is a world class guitar player.

I am interviewing him in the next 2 days here in DC for TG, and I will take this message to him

hasben

Fri Mar 12, 2010 3:36 pm

Joe, I am completely sighted and can't teach myself :laugh: BUT I wanted to tell you how proud I am that you have taken on this nobel mission. Carry on, buddy! Fred

Chasplaya

Fri Mar 12, 2010 3:45 pm