Sun Jun 27, 2010 1:19 pm

I have been stumbling through the guitar since March 2009 until I
came across this site and learned a complete song without giving up
and going to another.What puzzles me the most is I have found out that
I find finger picking to be easier than strumming! Is this normal
or am I just a wacked out lefty?

willem

Sun Jun 27, 2010 1:29 pm

Maybe its your nature talent,but it can, but witch song did you??

Lavallee

Sun Jun 27, 2010 1:31 pm

I also find strumming more challenging than finger picking (not saying finger picking is easy). Many song have their melody coming from the strumming rhythm and I find this challenging. You are not alone.

Marc

BigBear

Sun Jun 27, 2010 1:33 pm

I'm really glad you found this site. And you pose an interesting question. Many people like the sound of picking out individual notes and some even feel this is easier than strumming. I'm the opposite, believing that strumming is much easier to learn and play because you only have to coordinate a pick versus a thumb and three fingers.

Almost everyone gravitiates towards whatever style suits them best but I believe it is a huge mistake not to learn fingerstyle, fingerpicking and strumming. Why limit your playing to any particular style?

If you don't have many years playing under your belt most of this is new and exciting so don't worry about what seems "easier" or "more natural". Those concepts will come later with experience.

Right now focus hard on really good technique; good left snd right hand positions, assigning your index, middle, and ring fingers to the E, B and G strings, correct bass notes with your thumb, crisp clean chords, mastering the dreaded barre chords etc.