Collaboration - I Wanna Hold Your Hand

ffsooo3

Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:44 pm

I’ve been listening to the Beatles for more than 45 years and have been trying to play some of their songs for about 40. You know the occasional attempt at “Blackbird”, “Michelle”, “And I Love Her”, “Something”, and “If I Fell”. Ballads.

But never, ever, have I attempted something like ”I Wanna Hold Your Hand”. It always seemed impossible (to me) to do justice to a fast Beatle ‘rocker’. So I never tried. But then I stumbled upon Natalie Hawkins’ version on YouTube. I thought it was great and decided to give it a try. Though her version is definitely not a “rocker”, I must say it was a blast to learn. What interesting chords. Who would have thought to play a B7 in the key of G? Bminor sure - but a B7?

Anyway, here’s Natalie’s original video (she’s playing capo’d on the 4th fret):

I downloaded her video and slowed it down to drop her voice a half step (giving her a slightly huskier/fuller voice), and then added compression, equalization, and a slight stereo effect, and then I tried to play along with her:

jim56

Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:54 pm

Hey Daryl that was excellent! Really enjoyed your performance. Sounds like a bit of work went into getting the lead singer part to work for you. Thanks for sharing your vid.

Chasplaya

Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:20 pm

Good on ya mate that was really enjoyable.

jayswett

Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:36 am

Your technology know-how is something to behold, and your guitar playing is great as well. I wish I could say that I've been playing for forty years.

michelew

Sat Oct 02, 2010 6:41 am

Really nice collaboration Daryl. It feels nice as a ballad too.

Lavallee

Sat Oct 02, 2010 8:31 am

Very nice Daryl, I really like how smooth you play. Your playing really add to the good singing instead of just accompanying it.

Marc

MarkM

Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:18 am

Daryl,

Another great job. You've become quite the expert in putting these together. I really enjoyed this one. Thanks.