some notes from a songwriting workshop

auntlynnie

Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:32 pm

I'm new to this particular TG Board, but I do think about songwriting quite a bit. I'm fascinated by the process and really enjoyed watching the Paul Simon interview that someone posted here.

Yesterday I attended a songwriting workshop by Michael Peter Smith. He wrote The Dutchman and Spoon River (both made famous by Steve Goodman). But he's written hundreds and hundreds of songs. I thought I'd post here what I gleaned from the presentation, for whoever cares to read it. I'm going to number the thoughts just to keep them separated. He did not present these as a numbered list.

1. Songwriting is a very personal process. Write to please yourself. Sharing a song is like showing someone your diary entry. He suggests working and working on a song until you have it where you really, really like it and can't imagine it getting any better. Then be very careful who you show it to. He says he trusts audience reaction rather than a single person's reaction.

2. Make a list of the songs you really, really love (the ones you can listen to over and over and over). Study them, learn them inside and out, and maybe see if there are similarities among the songs. Understand the chord progression, the construction of the songs. Look for common patterns that appeal to you on an emotional level. How do different chord progressions make you feel emotionally?

3. Consciously use other songs as a guide to writing songs. Most songs are reminiscent of other songs. When looking for a style of a song, ask yourself, who would sing this song? McCartney? Sinatra? Elvis? If you imagine someone singing it, it can help the process along.