Dead at 50

AndyT

Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:23 pm

Well, I never saw him play an instrument, but Michael Jackson died today and everyone is hailing him as a great musician. Don't you have to play an instrument to be a musician? I thought he was a performer/singer.

I never was one of his fans, but he did make some big contributions to the music business. Many will miss him.

As a side note to this, Farrah Fawcett died today also. And I understand she actually played piano. Hmmm....

Chasplaya

Fri Jun 26, 2009 4:10 am

Now I am a lowly Training Manager with the NZ POlice not an officer but civilian employee and I was in a one on one meeting today with the second in command of the whole organisation, the Deputy Commisioner whilst my wife was texting me the usual sick dead celebrity jokes, don't worry not for the forum!! and I had to try and keep a straight face with this very important Exec, thats how I found out about Jacko's death. Quite agree Andy he was a singer/performer

KennyF

Fri Jun 26, 2009 5:52 am

Chasplaya wrote:
my wife was texting me the usual sick dead celebrity jokes...
There's a million of 'em already.

Hey man, he kind of brought that stuff on himself... I'm just sayin'. Image

BigBear

Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:59 pm

Ya know the guy was an incredible talent in his time. But, geez, he is being eulogized like he was some sort of saint. IMHO, he was a very troubled human being with more than his share of personal demons.

It's ironic that we are losing 1,000 WWII veterans PER DAY in this country and many, many more around the world. These were true heroes. Yet, there is barely a whimper in the press. We have men and women at war putting it all on the line for us, and barely a peep, except when they do somehting wrong.

Yet Michael Jackson is dominating the press. Rest in peace Michael, but don't forget the people that matter the most in this world.

Chasplaya

Fri Jun 26, 2009 4:45 pm