sound equipment

jimi40

Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:47 pm

Just wondering what people use or recommend to get the best vocal/acoustic sound. I currently have a Peavey PA system that includes a mixer and 2 speakers. I connect my guitars into a passive DI box using 1/4" instrument cables then into the mixer with XLR cables. I also use an Ibanex tube screamer with the gain turned all the way down and the level all the way up to get more volume. I am far from a professional but I like my toys and would love to be more educated in this area. Thanks

wiley

Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:08 pm

kanefsky

Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:00 pm

One nice mic that I have which Muriel also uses is the DPA 4099G. It's a clip-on mic which is nice because you can easily move it from one guitar to another and it doesn't require any ugly modifications to the guitar. You can even buy different clips and use it on other instruments (piano, drums, violin, etc). You also have a lot of flexibility in how you position it to get the sound you want.

http://www.dpamicrophones.com/en/produc ... item=24343

--
Steve

kanefsky

Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:02 pm

What do you know, here's Doug Young reviewing the aforementioned DPA mic:

--
Steve

wiley

Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:32 pm

jimi40

Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:33 am

Thanks, that's some good info.
Any suggestions on computer programs for recording?

thereshopeyet

Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:36 am

Jimi

I came across an interesting site a while ago.
I hope you find it of interest.

Link - Bob Brozman LIVE Sound Hints

Dermot

:)

michelew

Fri Feb 03, 2017 1:05 am

Bump!

I've been rereading some of the great info on recording equipment that various members have posted over the years. I remember Wiley often chiming in with advice. Some of it went over my head at the time, or in one ear and out the other because I wasn't quite ready for it.