Hello from Boulder, Colorado

jeffb

Sun Sep 13, 2009 2:01 pm

Though I joined Target in May, I figure I should finally get around to this, as I have an ulterior motive: I want to meet some folks to play with in my neck of the woods! If you live near Boulder and are interested in plunking with a relatively new, but enthusiastic, player please drop me a PM.

I'm 40 years old, and just started playing in Dec of 2008, so I'm clearly a beginner. However, while I'm a newbie on the guitar, I'm not entirely new to music: I played piano for about 5+ years as a sub-teenager, and then the mandolin / octave-mandolin for about 2 years off and on about 7 years ago, give or take. After spending a few weeks in Grand Canyon jammin' with friends around the campfire, I was inspired to pick music back up and I feel like I've finally found the instrument that excites me: guitar (duh...). I really enjoy studying the theory of music in addition to learning songs I can sing to. When I think about keys, chords, theory, etc, I still visualize the piano keyboard -- I've yet to really solidly transfer that to the fretboard, but I'm trying. I seem to be learning mostly fingerpicking style songs, but I'm working on using the pick as well. I'm a huge fan of folks like James Taylor, Martin Sexton, Greg Brown, and Jorma -- but I like most anything really, except rap.

My avatar shows my 4 stringed instruments: a mandolin (not really visible, in front of my main guitar), my beautiful Weber octave mando, my Baby Taylor travel guitar, and my main guitar: a Larrivee OM-03R.

I'm a computer engineer by day (and, unfortunately, sometimes night), but what I really like to do is study languages, rock climb, kayak, and play guitar.

Cheers, and thanks to all the folks who make this such a fun place on the web.

Music Junkie

Sun Sep 13, 2009 2:10 pm