HI from Long Island

musicdoc522

Wed Sep 23, 2009 1:41 pm

My name is Ed. I am 62 year old semi retired guy living with my wife and have two kids in their twenties. I work part time as a school psychologist. My interests are going to concerts, reading, sports and bike riding.
I have played guitar off and on for more than thirty years. Once I didn't pick up the guitar for 7 years. Since I retired 4 years ago, I have been playing more consistently other than time off for carpal tunnel surgery. I also dealt with a bout of guitar acauisition syndrome. Currently I own a Larrivee OM-03, Gibson Songmaker (Canadian) and a Gibson CJ-165. I play at least an hour a day and sometimes more as long as my fingers and elbows hold up. I love most of the singer songwriter music such as James Taylor, CAt Stevens, Neil Young, etc. I am a huge Beatles fan. My strength has been fingerpicking and my weakness has been timing and Rhthym. I am desperate to learn to strum better and play more rock and roll songs. I gave up on lessons with instructors as I couldnt take the pressure of having to come back every week to show how much i had improved. I like to work at my own pace. I also found that most instructors had their own agendas and frequently ignored my goals which was to learn technique and play songs.
I discovered instruction on the internet and learned some good things. This site is the absolutely best that I have found. I have learned quite a few songs. I love the format of the full lessons and even pay attention to the theory sections. I love the campfire songs also. There are so many great features and I expect to really learn alot. I might even get the courage to upload a video one day.

haoli25

Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:05 pm