Hello from Northern California

goldleaf

Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:33 pm

I've been around for almost 3 months but never actually introduced myself. I reached the 200 posts goal yesterday so I thought it is probably time I say Hello. I'm Gary and I was born & raised in San Diego. Got Polio at age 6 & use a w/c for mobility. Graduated with my BA from San Diego State University 1972. Got married & left there when I was 24 and moved to Fresno CA. Lived there for quite a few years and moved up to Grass Valley CA in 1991. I started playing gulitar when I was 10 and after a few years wanted an electric. Parents agreed if I took lessons for 2 years I get the electric. I took lessons but somehow got thought 2 years without learning how to read music. I would get the tune, memorize it and play it back to the teacher next lesson. Got busted finally and gave up lessons. Started playing in a garage band with friends who had guitars one had drums and had a keyboard player a female singer. That lasted until college and the singer got married. I sold my electric and got an classical nylon string that mostly set around. I'd play off and on but never learned anything new worthwhile. I have a daughter who lives in Phoenex AZ and 2 granddaughters 6 & 9. Work 1/2 time for a non-profit agency. Started with TG about 3 months ago and bought a guitar each month I was in TG. It wasn't planned that way but that's what happened. I'm really enjoying the TG Forum, maybe too much, as I need to spend more time practicing. Neil and the TG method is the ticket for me. I can sign-on 24/7, well I go to bed by 9:00 really, but you know what mean. It's convenient for me to play and actually learn new songs, especially songs I like. Thanks to all the crew who have answered my questions and offered suggestions and answered questions, there are too many to name. My best wishes to all of the TG cast, your great. Your friend, Gary

haoli25

Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:39 pm