(Late) Hi to all...

Jimmer

Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:52 pm

I'm a charter member, but have been away for awhile - really glad to see how much this place has filled out!

I'm a 53-year-old self-taught geetar player who *should* be a lot better than he is. Glad I found Neil so he could show me what I've been doing wrong all these years.

My musical tastes are very much like Neil's - not surprising, since we're (close to) the same generation. Listening to James Taylor, Harry Chapin, and Jim Croce taught me how to play... and sappy bands like 'Bread' taught me that sappy songs can get girls... :-)

My (one and only) brush with greatness? I was stationed in England in the early 80's and made a little 'walkin around money' (sometimes just a few free pints) by playing pubs in my spare time. One night in a pub in Bedfordshire, I was playing, and in walked a very well-known 'local'. It was Ralph McTell, who made a hit with the song, 'Streets of London'. As you can imagine, I had no problem relinquishing the mike... and was rewarded by having Ralph ask me to stay and accompany him on a few songs. I didn't wash my guitar playing hand for months after that... lol

Glad to see so many rabid enthusiasts here - hope to make a lot of friends!

> Jimmer

Chasplaya

Sat Oct 10, 2009 4:57 pm

HI JIm,

Welcome to TG even though you've obviously been a member for a while its good to see you on the forums, man what a story jammin with McTell!!

regards

Chas

wrench

Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:00 pm

It's a pleasure to make your acquaintance Jimmer.

And since you jammed with Ralph McTell, you know we can hardly wait to see your first TG video.

wrench

neverfoundthetime

Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:32 pm

Ralf McTell? Cool Jimmer! Did he recognise you? :-) Nice story.

haoli25

Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:34 pm

That is a very cool story. The first fingerpicking song I learned -- and still play parts of most every day -- was Streets of London. Great song.

jayswett

Sat Oct 10, 2009 6:31 pm

fjvdb wrote: