Hi from Skokie, IL

nneihaus

Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:05 am

Hi. I've been playing for about 10 years (I'm a 55 year old teacher but still a kid at heart). I play classic rock songs for my students and make up a lot of educational games around them (Here Comes the Sum, etc..). They all resist at first but really end up loving it, especially the Beatles tunes. I've tried explaining Beatlemania to them, but unless you've lived it, it's difficult to really fully understand the experience. I follow a few of the better guitar web sites, but Neil's is fast becoming my favorite. I appreciate the thoroughness of the lessons (I just joined a few days ago). I also like that the songs are mostly made so one acoustic guitar can play them completely. I have too many instructional books and DVD's where guitar parts are take exactly from a recording, leaving a void if one is playing solo. Also, I like the selection of tunes. I'm already recommending this site to my other guitar playing friends. I teach beginning guitar in summer school for elementary students and I teach staff guitar to a few brave teachers. I play at coffee shops and restaurants doing 60's/70's sing-alongs and we usually have a blast. One problem I have is that I usually tackle too many areas at once and never become expert in any. I may decide to play electric blues, then switch to acoustic rock, to country blues, to flat-picking, then to my uke, etc.. I'm hoping to go through the songs I like here completely and gain proficiency before moving on to something else. That's about it for me. Talk to you more later.

jayswett

Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:15 am

If you just joined, welcome to the site. I've been here a few months and love it. What is "staff guitar"?

AcousticAl

Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:21 am

Welcome nneihaus!
I'm sure you'll be visiting those other guitar websites less and less.

Enjoy the ride!

Al

nneihaus

Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:09 am