Hello from Ohio

goldleaf

Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:05 pm

Hello Everyone,

My name is Nancy. I joined TG a few weeks ago and, WOW, what a great place this is! I've been playing for a couple of years and would say I am at beginner/intermediate level...can do some technically difficult stuff and struggle with some easy stuff...hmmm. I tried taking private lessons for a couple of months. That didn't fair well for me. I spent more time listening to my instructor play his guitar than anything else. The day I questioned why I was bothering to take my guitar was the day I quit. He was not a good teacher...nothing like Neil! (Great musician though.)

Neil and I must have very similar tastes in music. I love so much of what he is teaching...Neil Young, Pink Floydd, Grateful Dead, James Taylor, Elton John, and so on. The first song I tried to learn on the guitar was Embryonic Journey, how hilarious is that. I'm looking forward to revisiting that disaster in a few years!

I am very interested in music theory so when the Genius Series went up that was a wonderful surprise. The content that is up already in that series is enough to keep me busy for the next year.

I've been reading through the forum posts over the past couple of weeks and you all seem like a really nice, diverse, group of people. I'm not typically one to post to forums...so that must say something. I also noticed that Matt is very in touch with the members...that's remarkable. Good for you Matt!

Well again, Hello to everyone and best wishes!

Lavallee

Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:11 pm

Hi Nancy, welcome aboard from Canada, glad you decided to join the forum and that you took the time to introduce yourself. We are in agreement with the music selection.

Marc

TGMatt

Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:13 pm

Welcome nancy...

Hope you enjoy the new Xmas series..

haoli25

Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:17 pm