New member in the UK

sws626

Sun Jan 03, 2010 7:08 pm

Hello All,

Just a quick note to say hello. I'm returning to the guitar after a 10-year hiatus. I started playing as a teenager in Seattle in the 70's on my mom's 12-fret nylon string acoustic. Spent some time back then in some frustrating lessons with a sadistic teacher. My earliest memories are of learning to play "Nights in White Satin" and "Here, There and Everywhere." Later, I bought a steel string Takamine before going off to college, but reverted to strumming and very basic fingerpicking of Dylan tunes. Never really managed to bridge the gap between arrangements beyond my ability and playing well below the level I thought I ought to be able to achieve. Timing is a real challenge for me. Despite coming from a family of musicians, I seem to have been spared the rhythm gene. One day about ten years ago, my brother asked if he could have my guitar and I gave it to him without hesitation. But last year I found myself in a music store playing around on a Martin 000-28 and decided to give it another go. So here I am.

My musical tastes run along the lines of Dylan, Neil Young, and J.J. Cale.

I stumbled upon this site via YouTube and have been impressed by my brief visits so far. I look forward to sharing this experience with all of you.

Stuart

dekotaj

Sun Jan 03, 2010 7:15 pm

Welcome Stuart.
Kevin

haoli25

Sun Jan 03, 2010 7:17 pm

Hello Stuart. It is very nice to have you with us here at TG. You will be amazed at how quickly you progress. These are the best lessons on the internet and a great group of people here that will help you. If you have any questions, please ask.

Bill

hasben

Sun Jan 03, 2010 7:17 pm

Welcome Stuart!! I think you will find this site right up your alley. The members are very helpful, supportive and friendly. Hang around and join the fun. You already have me beat: you can spell rhythm. :laugh:

Fred from Muskogee

:huh:

dennisg

Sun Jan 03, 2010 7:19 pm

Hi Stuart,