Hello from Brussels

gihan

Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:34 am

Hi, I'm originally from Montreal, Canada, but now living in Brussels, Belgium. I played classical guitar as a child (9-13) but then became "too cool" - an immature decision which I will always regret (but at least I can finger pick and read music). After that I barely touched a guitar until recently - I've been playing again for about 1 year now, so I guess I'm still a beginner on the cusp of intermediate ;-). I've got a Washburn D10SDL guitar which I love.

tovo

Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:39 am

Hi Gihan from Australia. Been following your thread on female artists so you're obviously not afraid to jump right in which is great. I've spent some time in Brussels, nice place. I guess it's safe to assume you are a French speaker. I found Montreal felt like Europe to me when I was there. Glad to have another lady on the forum to balance the opinions a little. Welcome.

gihan

Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:47 am

English speaker actually, born in Toronto, I just keep finding myself in places where they speak French :S ...which is actually cool. Once I get a few English songs down (I know quite a few now, but play none of them exceptionally) I'd like to try a few French ones. But since singing and playing at the same time are still quite a challenge for me, I'll be sticking with English for now. :)

waggis

Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:48 am

Welcome Gihan.

Brussels is not to far from Switzerland. I guess you will be singing French Chansons soon. Liked your thread on female artists. Good Luck!

michelew

Tue Jan 12, 2010 5:58 am

Gihan - It really is great to have you on board. You're already balancing some of the testosterone around here. And we seem to have some favourite artist in common which is great. I can't wait to see your first post. See you around the forum. If you're anything like me you'll love it around here - so much to learn, so much inspiration and fun too.

RicksPick

Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:17 am

Hello Gihan