Greetings from Tallahassee, FL

andras

Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:53 am

Hi Everybody! My name is John and I'm a 46 yo software developer from Tallahassee, FL. I started teaching myself to play guitar when I was about 13 years old. Playing guitar has been pretty much an on-again/off-again hobby for me up until now. I've always owned a guitar but there have been long stretches, sometimes years, between stints of learning anything new and/or playing regularly. I'm also a vocalist and enjoy singing along with my guitar playing. Since I'm no guitar virtuoso, when asked, I tell people that I know just enough guitar to accompany my voice! I played Alto saxophone in school band and play piano/keyboard by ear as well. I've written and recorded original music on both the guitar and piano. Like so many folks here... I JUST LOVE MUSIC.

My most recent guitar playing/learning revival was ignited by a friend who needed an acoustic guitar player to sit in once in a while for his church band. With some trepidation, I agreed and it turned out to be just what I needed to get me back in the "saddle" (pun intended) again with my guitar. Also, the huge amount of guitar learning information available today online (guitar sites, youtube, tabs, etc.) has made learning purely a function of the time and effort you put into it. I found TotallyGuitars.com because I was looking for help in learning some new songs that I will be playing for an upcoming live gig. Myself, and three other "hobbiest" musicians (guitar, bass, drums) landed a gig playing a fund raising event for The Alzheimer's Project (March, 6th, 2010). We are trying to learn about 20 songs for the gig, some of which are taught on this site (Thanks Neil!) Here is a list of the songs we are working on:

- Every Breath You Take (The Police)
- Help! (Beatles)
- Pink Houses (John Mellencamp)
- Layla (Eric Clapton acoustic version)
- Don't Dream It's Over (Crowded House)
- Little Wing (Sting version)
- It's Probably Me (Sting Eric Clapton)