"RELIC" NEWBIE

manicmusicman

Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:55 am

My name is Bruce and I'm glad to be here. Wow, that sounds a little like AA :-)

48 years young and trying to pick up an old love that I put away about 3 decades ago. Just want to keep up with my kids, but I can tell that's going to be "Interesting" to say the least.

I might be the best-ever "Air Guitarist-While Driving" to hit I-5, so if you see the car swerving I must really be into my groove. Seriously, I would like to learn how to play the stuff I already know in my head. When I was 14 I could pay a lot of the popular music of the day, but I was self taught and never learned how to play music.

Right now, Everlong is on my mind after the recent release of the Foo Fighters Greatest Hits; Foo has an acoustic version on there, which my wife loves. Also, I want to learn how to play The Wedding Song "There is Love" just like the original 12-string version by Paul Stookey. My daughter is 12 and I want to play it at her wedding someday. I hope I have lots and lots of years to practice, but she's pretty cute so I figured I should get after it sooner than later.

Cheers Everyone!

mcfingers

Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:12 pm

Hey Bruce, greetings from the Northern Cali section of I-5. Your story is a familiar one here at TG. Many of us have a desire to rekindle our love with the guitar. I think you'll find this a good place to start.

Cheers,
Steve

tom18

Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:20 pm

Hi Bruce,
And welcome to TG from New Jersey. This site will really help you along on your journey to master the guitar and you meet some interesting folks along the way. Folks on the forum are very helpful and the lessons are great. Consider joining TARGET; it's well worth it.
Tom

hasben

Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:11 pm

Welcome to the best place to be... Fred from Muskogee, Oklahoma.

tovo

Sat Apr 17, 2010 2:37 pm