Introduction from Alan in Texas

sbutler

Fri Oct 22, 2010 12:01 pm

Hello from Alan in Texas.

I joined TARGET last month. Almost every day since joining, I’ve been logging on to have Neil lay some knowledge on me. I’m finally getting around to checking out the community aspect of the site. So here’s a little introduction.

I’m 41 years old and live in Central Texas. I first picked up the guitar when I was thirteen. I took a couple of lessons but was mostly self-taught from Guitar Magazine and a few Arlen Roth books.

I learned enough to join a local band. I wasn’t much of a guitarist but I had a really cool looking Carvin. We knew how to rock, and managed to get consistent shows at local clubs, showcases and parties. We practiced a lot and had a ball. It was a huge part of my life in high school.

After school days, guitar became less important. I’d pull it out occasionally to impress girls. But I was never a strong singer. So even though I could play opening riffs and bits and pieces of hundreds of songs my playing was stuck in rut of just bringing out the same tired songs. I never bothered to learn entire songs and my rhythm playing was so poor it was easy to get frustrated and bored. I never developed a solid foundation.

Fast forward to the last two years, I started spending time on instruction sites and getting a solid understanding of rhythm. I already had a lot of left hand “knowledge”, I was just missing the all important right hand “emotion” and beat. My playing improved immediately. Man do I wish I had access to this type of instruction when I was just learning. The books I used to self teach didn’t help much in explaining right hand technique.

I eventually found Neil on YouTube breaking down the Dead tune “Ripple”. It was obvious this guy could teach me a lot about a style I really wanted to master, the chord solo/melody strumming technique.