hello!!

gyhra88

Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:14 am

hey TG members..im am a 19 year old soldier in the US Army..i am serving my second tour in Afghanistan (first one in Iraq)..i proud b/c im one of the few 19 year olds that can say they have served 2 tours of duty..anyways im new at this guitar stuff..i just picked one up last week and needed something to do over here that brings me back home..i didnt plan on learning from scratch here so i ordered a book (called Hal Leonard Guitar Method, Complete Edition), dont know if its good so i figured i would have a couple of references about guitars. anyways i hope you all have a great day and keep supporting the troops over here..god bless and goodbye

tombo1230

Sun Dec 05, 2010 6:15 am

Hi gyhra88,
welcome to TG. You have come to the right place as you have everything at your fingertips here so to speak. This is a great site and everyone will encourage you to do better. 19 is a great age to start to learn guitar. All you need to do is put in the practice. Everything you need to learn properly is available on this site. Neil has a real Knack of getting inside your head, he knows exactly what you need to know, like he is in your shoes and understands what it is like to try to learn. Get onto some of the beginners lessons and you should be playing something real soon. The good thing about the way Neil teaches is that he uses songs to teach you techniques, which can help you play other songs. Enjoy your guitar journey and keep out of harms way.

All the best,

Tom N.

AcousticAl

Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:40 am

Welcome!

TG is a great way to spend your down time. It will make you wish you had way more of it! Also, if you're bunking with others, you'll be playing actual songs in no time, so hopefully it will be enjoyable for them too.

Stay safe.

Al (from Canada)

AcousticAl

Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:38 am

Hi Gyhra88!

Just wanna welcome you from the Netherlands!