New Target member here!

bluesy1

Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:11 pm

Hello all,
My name is Diana and I am a brand new member here. I first saw some of Neil's guitar lesson videos on You Tube and was very impressed with how consistently well done the lessons were, and are. I have not seen any others of the same caliber.

I first started playing acoustic guitar in middle school (a long time ago!) and then stopped altogether. I took it up again around 2003 and I have been playing on/off ever since. I am mostly self-taught, and I play by ear and can pick out notes and songs and chords on my own, given enough close listening. I love playing country blues (a la Mississippi John Hurt, Etta Baker, etc) but I also love playing the classic folk/pop songs that I grew up with the '70s like Cat Stevens, Neil Young, Doobie Brothers, Janis Ian, and so on. I also do a little flatpicking as well, and I love fiddle tunes.

I look forward to learning more songs with TG and meeting other members here on the site.

tovo

Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:29 pm

Hi Diana from South Australia. You found a great site here, hope you get a lot from it. I'm a fellow Cat Stevens fan and most of the other folk artists you mentioned. Where are you from?

Anyway, big welcome and enjoy!

michelew

Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:04 pm

Hi Diana,

A big 'Hi' from Sydney. With that list of loves you've certainly come to the right place. TG is just the best place I've found and will help you on your guitar journey just as far as you want to go.

I look forward to seeing you post your first video.

Michele

wrench

Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:06 pm

Welcome Diana. I can't even begin to list all the ways you fit right in here, but you'll see all that for yourself very quickly. We have a fantastic community, so feel free to ask questions.

coomba

Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:41 pm

G'day Diana
Welcome to TG you have come to the right plate, I think you'll find lessons here to cover all your interests
Have fun
Cheers
Scott

bluesy1

Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:51 pm