Hiya People

dsmarion

Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:54 pm

Hi, my name is Scott and I live in Southeast Michigan. I played a lot back in the day but put it down completely about fifteen years ago. I played mostly electric and very little acoustic. I am not sure why I quit playing, I think I lost interest because I was not interested in the newer music I was hearing. I think that happens to most of us as we grow older, we like what we grew up with best and it goes out of style. I just turned 54 so you can probably guess I grew up with 60s-70s and I liked mostly rock-n-roll then - classic rock it's called now. But I also have a wide interest of music styles and always wished I knew some really good acoustic pieces. I know bits and pieces of a few but I never had the finger-picking ability and never worked on it. I am completely self-taught, never had a lesson (except from hanging with other players and passing the guitar back and forth) and I never learned how to read music (thank goodness for tab)

Fast forward to now. I suddenly got the bug to play again. A ran into a friend of mine I used to play with back in the day and he had an acoustic guitar sitting there in the case (he is a keyboard player and doesn't play guitar at all) and he handed it to me to check out. I was appalled to discover I couldn't remember a thing and even what I could remember I could not play. Totally disgusting and embarassing! I think that is what brought the bug to play back. I can't let it end like this.

So I went out two weeks ago and bought a new Martin OM-1 and have been struggling to play it. I don't have any calluses any more and need to build those up again - plus I didn't realize finger picking (which I am trying to learn now) caused blistering on that right hand too. I am playing through the pain :-) I also have something else now I never had to deal with back then - arthritis! Wow can that be a pain!