New to Totally Guitar

pa1791

Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:50 pm

Hello to you all, hmmmmm, what to say?

I've been playing guitar by sight and ear off and on for about thirty five years. I think I'm fairly decent at it and when i need humbled I watch youtube covers of some really talented people and i realize how good I'm not.

I have played electric guitar, mostly power chords and a lick to two, never really learned to play leads.
I really enjoy acoustic guitar and hope to someday perform at a coffee house or small club/bar.
I seem to gravitate mostly around country music and some modern rock music and a lot of older stuff, I'm all over the place. If i like the way a song sounds I learn it basically.
I currently play a Takamine EF341SC which is probably the best guitar I've ever owned so far. I have a Martin Sigma i use as a campfire guitar.

I would like to learn music theory and learn how to transpose chords before i get to much older, there are just so many hours in a day and I really like to play and there never seems to be enough time to study it and besides reading it on the internet is confusing to me.

So i guess I'm sort of searching for a way i can learn and improve my playing in a way that i can absort it so that it makes sense to me.

I'm looking forward to seeing how maybe this community might be able to assist me and it goes without saying i am always willing to help those who can benefit from what I've learned over the years. I'm kinda of a stickler for playing songs as played by the original artist or as close as possible anyways.

Thanks and looking forward to hearing from everyone! Image

buddy

Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:43 pm

Welcome aboard !

AndyT

Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:10 am

Transposing to a different key is actually quite easy once you get the musical alphabet down.

Welcome to TG. You're gonna like it here.

michelew

Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:59 am

Hi there and welcome from the Netherlands!