hi from Toronto!

mariaryan

Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:47 pm

Just joined TG today and wanted to say hello. I've been playing guitar for 30+ years and have been a private music teacher (guitar, uke, mando, violin) for 15. It's my heart and soul. I'm always looking for ways to improve myself as a way of becoming a better teacher. Looking forward to digging into the site! Thanks!

MarkM

Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:23 pm

Hi Mariaryan,

Welcome from the Netherlands!

You have a very interesting background wich is quite similar to mine, and what can I say, if you want to keep improving as a teacher, then you definitely have found the right teacher for exactly thát!

I would want to encourage you to give Target some thought, because then you can watch a lot more of Neil teaching, for instance the videoreviews and the Fly on the wall's, not to mention the tons and tons of songs in wich he gets really deep into everything a student needs to know. IMHO, he's the best teacher that I have come across with and I was actually really searching for exactly that when I bumped into this website over a year ago. Well I also like lots and lots of songs that he teaches! :P

Anyway, great to have you aboard and I'm sure you will enjoy the site very much!

cheers

Vanessa

millponddave

Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:26 pm

Welcome from Utah, USA. I'm sure that you will have a lot of fun here.

Dave

dennisg

Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:27 pm

Hi Maria,

Greetings from Seattle. As Vanessa said, you've come to the right place to become both a better player and a more successful teacher. Enjoy yourself.

BigBear

Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:43 pm

Big welcome Maria, from the Left Coast in Portland. If this site doesn't challenge you and your students I missed my bet.

Once you get settled, take a look at the TARGET program for all the great material. I couldn't learn all these songs in four lifetimes.

Enjoy yourself on this site and don't be a stranger on the forum. Your background in music could be a big help to many.