Well I posted many videos, I guess I should actually introduce myself

mbleier

Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:41 pm

Hey All,

I have been playing off and on for four years or so. I took lessons for a while but even though I learned a bunch of theory and can explain secondary dominants I couldn't really play much. I found Neil when he was first starting TG and became a Target member when he first started it up. I found my strum from Neil although apparently that still needs some major work.

I made some great progress strumming and got to build some confidence with some finger picking pieces that were much more doable than my guitar teacher had given me. I progressed a bunch but hit another plateau. I tried uploading videos but couldn't get it to work. I got frustrated and stopped playing and using the site for six to eight months. I was just thinking of leaving when I thought I would try to upload one more time and what do you know, it worked. I have posted a bunch of videos and have gotten awesome feedback from Neil and the many members of the target community. While I had instruction from the site I have spent many years learning in a vacuum and now that I have the ability to share what I am working on I can finally get some feedback and I feel like I am starting to progress again.

So, to all who are new or just feel stuck, I really recommend uploading a video. This group is very supportive and there are so many people who can really help you find the key to working through whatever is holding you back.

As far as personal stuff goes. I live in New Hampshire. I live with my wife Mary who is due with our first in March. I have three dogs, Kudra the border collie mix, Bashea the black lab/ german shepard mix, and Grendalyn the bassett hound. I have two cats Lazarus and Darla and five guinea hens. I am a master electrician and just started my own company last May which is doing amazing. I love to ski, rock climb, ice climb, mountain bike, hike, oh yeah and play guitar.

Mike