Hello from an American in Japan

idavid

Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:33 pm

Joined a month or so ago and am just getting into the site and am very impressed.

I've been playing on and off for the last ten years, but am pretty much just a strumming and singing kind of guy.

I have two musically gifted daughters that I am trying to keep ahead off...lol

I am thrilled that Damien Rice is being covered on the site!

I teach 4th grade to kids who have a parent in the American Air Force and music is a huge part of my teaching.

I live in Northern Japan, which is like being in a giant snow globe. We get over 200 inches of snow a year.

We present have a foot or so on the ground. They don't really plow the snow, we just drive slowwwwwww.

peace,

david

dsmarion

Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:04 pm

Welcome David from southeast Michigan. In the service I spent a year in Iwakuni, Japan (about 50 mi south of Hiroshima) and I can tell you we did not have that kind of snow there, hardly any at all really. But I did get a chance to vacation on the north coast of Japan in the summertime and it was really beautiful with crystal clear water and beaches nearly to ourselves. I remember that being a great time, not sure where we were exactly, we went with some Japanese friends.

Hope you find the site to your liking, lots here to keep you busy.

Scott

lueders

Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:18 pm

Hello David, and welcome to Totally Guitars! I think you'll like it here. Great lessons, good folks, and Neil & the gang are the best!

I see that you are a fourth grade teacher. I teach K-12 Art in a small town in Illinois. maybe we can swap stories sometime.

Nice to make your acquaintance,

Cori :)

P.S. Damien Rice Fans of the world unite! :) :) :)

Music Junkie

Sat Jan 14, 2012 9:09 pm

Hey David. Welcome from southern California. So glad you decide to join. If you are trying to keep ahead of musically gifted children, this will help, but I have to say that kids learn awfully fast..... :laugh: