Scales and some sort of lead playing

hogman

Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:54 am

Hi '
My name is Chris and i have been playing for about 5 years. I started out thinking after 5 years i would be a pretty good guitar player. Maybe I'm ok at this point in my opinion. I dont play in a band, i play for relaxation and i enjoy it very much. I have not learned any lead and now i think i need to go back and start again with scales and be able to transition into different positions/patterns and all that to go to the next level. Yea, I feel stuck and dont know where to start.
Need some help here.
Thanks,
Hogman

sbutler

Tue Aug 14, 2012 12:42 pm

Well Hogman, you ain't the lone ranger. Leads are a big subject in about every guitar site I've seen. Neils approach is an achievable one. Check out the lesson on "Lead Secrets/Triads".

I think its a good start. I've come to the conclusion that being a good lead player also takes some imagination, and the ability to hear a rhythm in your head. I haven't gotten there yet. But its a journey, not a destination.

Scott

Fred

Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:56 pm

Hey Chris;

Our guitar playing bio is about the same - playing for 5 years, and would rate as ok player.

For me, I thought that gettting chords down would allow me to play throught songs and sing along. That part has seemed to materialze and I'm still working on songs from a chord point of view.

Recently, I too wanted a bit more from playing and broached the Pentatonic Scales with Neil. So I've been getting into these for about a week. In addtion to Scott's suggestion, I would recommend checking out the "pentatonic scales and patterns" in the theory section. There have been recent forum discussions on this with Willem and others as well.

Good Luck on this - let me know how it goes, maybe we could compare notes on each others progress.

Best -

Fred

willem

Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:08 pm