Hey

bwjohnson

Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:01 pm

So I guess this is the standard protocol for new Target members. I have purchased a half dozen songs in the past year or so but was always a bit frustrated when I'd see a lesson review, fly on the wall, theory lesson, etc. that interested me but could not access so Santa gave me a Target subscription. (Much to "Santa's" chagrin as she doesn't have an appreciation for Neil's somewhat rambling, bouncing around weekly updates. Since my mind works like that, I hardly notice :) She says I'm ADD, teaching in public schools maker her an expert, she's probably right)

Anyhoo, the hey should tell you I'm located in the south. North Carolina to be exact, near Charlotte. I started playing the guitar when I was 8 or 9. My brother and I played various small social events for a couple of years until we outgrew the cute kid stage, I guess. Anyhow, true to my ADD, I'd play some then stop, then play some then stop until I was about 20. Then I went close to 20 years without playing. I picked it up again and have been playing for the past 15+ years. I've been around awhile. (When Neil holds up the Doobies Captain and Me album, I say "I had that album".) In any case, what that means is 25+ years of playing the guitar. The problem/frustration is the nature of my playing coupled with my personality has meant that I have learned in bits and pieces across a pretty broad landscape. I know a little bit about a lot of things but have mastery over little. I equate it to a jigsaw puzzle. If mastery for me is a 5000 piece jigsaw puzzle I have about 4000 pieces. Alas, only about 2500 actually fit together and I'm missing another 1000 pieces. (As a point of reference Neil's jigsaw puzzle is the 10,000 variety so my aspirations are markedly below his skill level). Now understand the missing pieces are a mix of the intellectual and physical (e.g. technique). My goal in joining the Target program is two-fold. First, to help fill in the puzzle, finding those