Hello Totally Guitars

raywhit

Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:00 am

Hello Everybody

My name is Lee and I have been playing guitar for about 3 years. I used to be a decent singer but a bout with cancer left me without a tongue or larynx and as such I am unable to speak let alone sing. So after a long long recovery I decided to take up guitar to continue with my love of music.

Since I can't sing I tend to learn towards the lessons that are either chord melodies or just have such distinctive riffs that the song is immediately recognizable. I have been a member for about one month and I have worked on the chord melody versions of Waiting on a Friend, Nights in White Satin, Spooky and also Hearts Crazy on You and the Silver Wheels intro. Love the site, I fine the instruction here much better than other sites and even better than the couple of real life teachers I have tried. I would rate my level of play somewhere between a beginner and intermediate.

My main guitar is a Taylor 113ce and I also have a Guild D-15 from the mid-eighties that I find much harder to play but I'm hanging on to it as I'm told by those more knowledgeable than myself that it is a "sweet" instrument and I will appreciate it when my playing improves.

I do find that while I can certainly learn and play even some of the more difficult lessons here I still often make a good deal of mistakes and even when I don't I seem to lack that touch or feel that really makes my playing flow. Now I am not going to ask how long it will take me to develop that kind of "touch" as there are way too many variables and the only real answer would be "well the depends on ......... ". What I would ask the group though if you care to respond is to share your personal experience as to how long it took before you turned the corner and what practice routine you used to get there.

Well if you got this far thanks for reading, very cool site indeed.

Lee

Music Junkie

Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:15 am

Lee: