Hello From Scottsdale, Az!

summek01

Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:55 pm

Ok, I've been tinkering around with a guitar for a few years, never really took it too serious never had the extra time. Well, now the kids are either in college or on their own so now I've got some time!

I gave my old Takamine 6 string to my nephew and went and bought a new Taylor 110e which is a little step up from the Tak.

I'm committing myself to 30 minutes a day at least so we'll see how I do! If I make enough progress perhaps I'll go in for personalized lessons.

I do have a question, where do you find the tablatures / chord sheets on this site?

Thanks! - Kelly

fjeanmur

Sun Apr 12, 2015 1:08 pm

Welcome Kelly,

I hope you get a lot out of this site. Maybe as you begin to explore and see how good the things are here, you may find that you don't want private lessons. In many ways, being able to watch the video lessons as many times as you want is much more effective than having a teacher available only once a week. But that's a whole other subject.

The tabs and the Guitar Pro files are under the video windows, down and to the left a bit As a Target member you have access to everything. Print out what you want or just look at it from your iPad, etc.

Good look and be sure to take advantage of whatever interests you.

Jean

TGNesh

Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:47 am

Hi Kelly and welcome to TG!

I see your question has already been answered, so I hope you've found them already.

Also spending 30 minutes a day on the guitar would be really great. You could also break it up, 2 times 15 minutes for example, whatever works for you. Personally I'm a fan of short and often.

Please make sure you also take a look at the beginners course, you absolutely want to practice with right technique and such. I can assure you, once you get used to wrong habits (in particular finger placement and hand positioning for both hands), it's VERY hard to correct them, so please make sure you got that right.