Hello and Desert Trip / Coachella

johnny_peel69

Wed May 04, 2016 4:55 pm

Hi everybody, I'm new to Totally Guitars, just thought I'd say hello! Im from Scotland and have been living/traveling in a load of countries since 1989, my latest stop is Mexico, where I've been since 2011, and Mexico City, for the past year and a bit.

I suppose I first started learning the guitar during a particularly mad Scottish New Years Eve when I was about 16 or 17 (Sweet Home Alabama!) and I countinued off and on until I was about 23 or 24. A key period was when I was unemployed in Melbourne, Australia, around '91 and my best buddy (along with the definitive Rolling Stones songbook) really helped me consolidate the major chords. However, I seemed to hit a brick wall after that and I never seemed to improve very much, which I now realise was pure laziness on my part, because I just didn't fancy the necessary struggle required to master barre chords.

So I pretty much dropped playing altogether until about 2 years ago: I picked up a friend's guitar one day down in Chiapas, here in Mexico and realised that for the most part my fingers could still do what they had been taught to do all those years ago, and was I inspired enough after that to go out and buy a 200 dollar guitar.

Then, a big breakthrough: I discovered online tutorials! :) Life changing! So finally, at the age of 46 I can play a bunch of barre chords, and incorporate them in a bunch of songs. I'm so pleased with my progress, and I pretty much learn at least one new song every week, the latest is People are Strange, (with a little help from Neil Hogan here at TG :). So thats my guitar playing history in a nutshell.