Grüß aus Spinland!

spinland

Mon Jan 02, 2017 5:20 pm

Howdy, fellow guitar heads!

So, I guess this is where I get to make it all about me, no? Okay....

I'm a retired USAF officer turned 3D digital artist. I own and operate a small (like, I wear all the hats) CGI and VFX studio in Central New York. This past year I realized that in the trials and tribulations of keeping my enterprise afloat and food on the table I've been burning myself out; I needed something for a release.

I grew up as a vocalist, first in church choirs, then in choral groups, and finally in a few bands. Many years ago I got myself a nice acoustic guitar (which i still have) and started learning "campfire" style music to accompany singing for fun. Somewhere along the way I lost touch with that and I decided music was just what the doctor ordered to keep me out of the asylum (or worse).

I resumed messing around with my acoustic, then picked up some MIDI instruments and began playing big time with arranging and recording lots of fun instrument sounds, as well as vocals. Fun! This past Christmas Santa brought me a shiny new PRS semi hollow electric and I can't bring myself to put it down.

I want to learn to PLAY ALL THE THINGS, and RIGHT NOW, and so I found this place and realized it was the perfect spot to learn fun songs from people who really know how to break it down for guys like me. I'm working on "Your Song" (which I sang to my bride at our wedding, only next time it won't be her brother playing the main guitar parts) and "Try to Love Again" which is one of my favorite Eagles tunes. That's just the beginning! B)

Looking forward to long, fun-filled evening practicing to the videos here!

Mark "Spinny" Dyson
Spinland Studios, LLC

fjeanmur

Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:00 pm

Welcome from New Jersey!

It sounds like you've discovered what we all have: Here at TG you can be like a kid in a candy shop. There's so much, it's hard to decide where to begin.