I finally joined TG!

carolm242

Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:01 pm

Helloooo lovely guitar people!
I just got home from my first ever IGC Camp 2017, and despite being severely sleep deprived, before I finally went to bed I unpacked and JOINED TG as a 6 month member! Words are not adequate to convey the extrordinary camp experience I just had but as a first time camper, I felt welcomed into this family immediately, and the warm supportive environment made it really easy to be just brave enough to give the open mic another chance...
I highly recommend everyone to go off to camp at least once, just so you see what you've been missing. And you will slap yourself for waiting so long to do it, ha!!
OK, sorry this is supposed to be an intro post since I am a brand newbie TG member:
I am Carol M from upstate NY. I started playing guitar in 7th grade on a second hand Harmony guitar. Took lessons for a year or so, we went thru the "Mel Bay" guitar method workbooks... I never made it all the way thru the green one (level2), and by then it was high school and college and all those grown up things that crowd out all the fun things that kids like to do. So that guitar stayed in the closet gathering layers of dust and rusting its poor strings in its lonely dark decay... and the decades kept their insideous march thru my guitarless life. Crying yet?
I need to team up with Lynn and write some blues lyrics to cheer everyone up. Sorry it gets better now.